I’m new at all this but let’s give it a try anyway.

Ok, so I sew a lot in my free time. And I mean A LOT.

So I said to myself: “Self, start a sewing blog.”

So here we are.

2 Shirts, 1 Skirt

These two are made with the same pattern (which I designed all by myself, with a little inspiration from this vintage pattern http://vintagefashionlibrary.com/inc/sdetail/185).

here's the pattern, the front is a little longer than the back, pleated later to match in length.

Both the fabrics were left over from my late grandma, who was a semi- professional seamstress and had a habit of hoarding huge amounts of fabric.

It’s hard to tell what they’re made of, probably mixes of some sort. I really like the colour of the first one, though it’s not my usual style, a kind of salmony-peachy-pink.

I made this skirt by modifying a basic long a-line skirt pattern. It has a little pleat -detail in the front and is gathered on the side with ribbon.The fabric is a very light-weight wool mix which I fell in love with… I’m thinking of making a dress out of it later.

The skirt is a much darker shade of gray than what it looks like in the close-ups. Anyway the light is kind of crappy in all the photos, so sorry for that. At least I try! :D

Tagged , ,

9 thoughts on “I’m new at all this but let’s give it a try anyway.

  1. berrin says:

    ı love your shirts especially pink one .congratulations and welcome

  2. Ana says:

    How long have you been sewing? I would love to eventually make clothes like this.

    • Well I’ve been doing crafts of some kind basically all my life, but I’d say I was about 15 when I really got into sewing… so that makes it about 5 years .
      And don’t worry, you should’ve seen the clothes I started out with… horrible stuff :D

  3. Juliet says:

    I love these tops! Have you thought about posting the pattern on burdastyle/ making a tutorial? I’d love to have a go at these myself!

    • I’ve always felt that turning a pattern into a printable version could be too much of a hassle for me, but I could think about the tutorial -thing, since the pattern isn’t too hard to make. We’ll see :)

  4. Laura says:

    Lovely shirts! I really like the pleats in the front. And welcome to the blogging world! ;)

  5. gina says:

    Oh my God! I love this blouse! Please, please, share the pattern!!!!!
    :)

  6. […] fit from the top :D. It’s modeled here with the salmon coloured shirt from my first post, which I’m planning on doing on a tutorial […]

  7. […] my first ever blog post, I had a couple of self-drafted shirts that people seemed to like. So I will attempt to explain how […]

Leave a comment