The Coat of Yummy Colours

 

It’s getting cold over here in Helsinki, and I found this wonderful blue wool for only 9,90 €/metre (though I’m trying not to buy so much fabric, I swear), so I thought I’d make a nice, warm coat out of it. I used this burdastyle pattern http://www.burdastyle.com/patterns/012011-long-coat-with-belt , adding a hood to the collar part. Oh, and I also added pockets. Since a coat without a hood and pockets is just missing something :)

The belt has two of those clippy-thingies you usually find in suspenders.

 

My boyfriend was nice enough to take these photos, so I didn’t have to mess with the self-timer on my camera this time.

 

The hood turned out pretty huge, but I think it gives the coat a nice sort of fantasy-feel.

 

 

 

The fabric I used as lining I already had, so I didn’t have to pay for that, which was nice. It’s probably polyester, or maybe even rayon, and a bit darker than in the pic. The red contrasts nicely with the blue of the wool.

 

 

(While making this coat/ posting this post, I was supposed to be studying for a linguistics exam, but I choose to ignore that for now…)

Tagged , ,

6 thoughts on “The Coat of Yummy Colours

  1. lazystitcher says:

    It’s gorgeous! And I love your photos amoungst the leaves, too :)

  2. Juliet says:

    Love this coat, the colour is just stunning! And out of curiosity, what branch of linguistics is your exam? I majored in linguistics at university so you sparked a bit of interest there for me!

    • Ugh, this is just “Introduction to Linguistics”, so it’s a bit of every branch I guess? It’s a compulsory course for all English (and other language) majors over here, but I found quite interesting really, only the lectures were a bit boring :D

  3. indigorchid says:

    What a fantastic coat! I think your alterations with the hood and the belt are great improvments over the original pattern, and that blue color suits you wonderfully! Great job!

  4. ooobop! says:

    This is such a lovely design. All credit to you for adding a hood and some pockets! The colour combo is sooo gorgeous and your boyf is one talented photographer! :-)

Leave a Reply

