Finally, A Finished Crochet Project!

I crocheted a shirt/blouse! It took me about half a freakin’ year or so, but now it’s finished.

SONY DSC

This has been a ridiculously long project, mostly due to the thin cotton yarn (I used a 2mm hook), but also because I’m not the most industrious crochet-person, and because I was silly enough to make this without a proper pattern/instructions. But in the end it turned out really nice, so I guess it was all worth it. The shoulders are a little weirdly shaped though.

For the most part I used this stitch, along with a basic double crochet. For the hems I used this really cute stitch. I used some basic sewing patterns and my body measurements to make the pieces, which I then sewed together.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

 

The neckline I finished using single-fold binding made from a strip of basic black knit fabric.

Before binding:

SONY DSC

After binding:

SONY DSC

I even crocheted a little test strip, just so I could see how the binding would work:

SONY DSC

 

All in all, I’m glad this project is done, but next time I’ll be sure to either a) make something small, b) make something really lacy, c) use thicker yarn.

– Sadie

PS. As you can see, I’ve cut my hair! Actually I did it quite a long time ago, but since there have been no pics of me for a while over here, I haven’t had the chance to show it to you. Yay :)

Tagged , , , ,

8 thoughts on “Finally, A Finished Crochet Project!

  1. The sweater is amazing! Do you sew the binding on by hand?

    • Thanks :)
      I used a serger and a normal sewing machine , with a technique similar to the one used in this tutorial, the only real difference being that I serged the raw edge and closed the binding with a small zigzag stitch outside the seamline. I hope that makes some kind of sense, it’s hard to explain!

  2. marjtrundle says:

    This is a lovely top and beautifully made. I do the same with knitting; it takes me forever!! I hope your dressmaking course is going really well and I think your new haircut suits the student lifestyle.

  3. Wow, that is gorgeous!

  4. nishi says:

    Wowsa! This top is beautiful! I love the edging detail in particular! One day I will learn to crochet… One day…!

Leave a Reply

