Reflections on 2012

2012reflection

Hi everyone and happy 2013!

I was ill over new year, hence the lateness of this post, but I still thought it would be nice to go through the past year a bit. I’m gonna go with the top fives idea from Crafting a Rainbow.

 

TOP 5 PERSONAL FAVOURITES

1. Mum’s evening gown

SONY DSC

This is an obvious choice, since I spent so much time making it, and ultimately both me and mum were pleased with the results. I also learned a lot during the planning and construction, and it was a wonderful opportunity to be able to make such a formal piece.

2. The Trenchcoat

SONY DSC

This was a definitely a hit, especially in terms of wearability. I wore it all through spring, summer and most of autumn, and it did everything a good trench should, keeping me safe from wind and rain, all the while looking quite stylish :)

3. The Upcycled Bolero

SONY DSC

This one I didn’t end up wearing so much, but I still love the look. It was also one of those projects that came out exactly the way I saw it in my head, so what’s not to like?

4. The Open-back Dress

SONY DSC

This dress was the saviour of my hot summer days — easy, breezy, and cute!

5. The Pinafore Dress

SONY DSC

I wear this all the time. Comfortable and versatile — what more could a girl hope for in a dress?

 

5 Things I Learned

1. In sewing, patience is most definitely a virtue. I feel like 2012 was finally the year that I learned to be patient with my sewing and planning, not rushing through projects just to get to the end result like I used to. I’ve even learned to appreciate doing things slowly sometimes, and understood that some things just have to be done by hand.

2. Patternmaking is awesome! In 2012 I got more and more into making patterns myself, and I have to say I love it. There’s something magical about planning and measuring something as two dimentional, and then later seeing it all put together into something three dimentional and fitting.

3. Sometimes sewing isn’t fun. Sometimes I just have to push myself into finishing a project, or otherwise it’ll just end up lying around unfinished forever.

4. I have too much fabric. I went through all my fabrics and put away all the ones that I’d never use, but there’s still so much left! I think making stuff out of the fabrics I already have should be my sewing related new year’s resolution for 2013, but we’ll see how that turns out.

5. I don’t have to make every idea that comes into my head a reality right at that moment. During the past year I’ve learned that it’s actually a helpful process to sketch out ideas first, then let them sit for a while, and only later decide whether it’s something I actually want to make. That way I don’t end up starting projects that I’ll later regret.

Overall 2012 was a good sewing year, and I feel like I’ve really learned a ton and my work has improved. Hopefully in 2013 I’ll find more time and energy for sewing, and also for blogging, which I’ve shamefully neglected every now and then.

I hope the new year treats you all wonderfully!

Tagged , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Reflections on 2012

  1. prttynpnk says:

    Oh, you had such a creative year! I love the bolero the mostiest- I hope you keep dazzling us in 2013!

Leave a Reply

