Recent Projects

Hey everyone!

Standard what-I’ve-been-up-to-for-the-past-few-weeks-post:

 

One Fabric, Two Dresses

 

I found this wonderfully soft black and white rayon at my local fabric store a  while back. The 4 1/2 m batch I bought cost only about 15 euros, so it was cheap too.

For dress #1  I used the classic Butterick B4790 “walk-away” dress pattern. I made some alterations, mainly to the shoulders and back darts. As you can see I also messed up the back, since it came out a little short, but I didn’t bother to try and fix it as this is just a casual summer dress. I made the bias tape myself from the same rayon fabric, and totally fell in love with making my own! It worked superbly and looks really nice on the finished product.

The dress closes with seven snaps.

 

 

The pattern for dress #2  I made myself with the help of the bodice block I drafted a while back. It’s basically just a really simple shift with a rounded hem and open back. I wanted to capture a kind of sixties feel with this — which was accomplished, I think. I’m really really happy with how it turned out.

 

A Bag for My Sis

My sister asked me to make her a bag from a fabric I had stored up. Here it is:

 

I leave you with this hypnotic elephant shrew:

 

 

 

Tagged , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Recent Projects

  1. Juliet says:

    Love your dresses! You definitely got the 60’s feel with dress #2, it’s very sweet. And the elephant shrew – naaaaww! Cute!

  2. I love your modern twist on the Walk Away dress! And what a cute bag! Your sister is definitely lucky to have a sis like you to sew for her. ;)

Leave a Reply

